IGNIS founder Arokia Nathan wins the 2020 IEEE EDS J.J. Ebers Award

10月 16, 2020

Waterloo, Ontario – October 16, 2020 – IGNIS Innovation Inc. (“IGNIS”) is proud to announce that our founder Arokia Nathan, has won the 2020 IEEE EDS J.J. Ebers Award for his contributions to thin film transistors and flexible/foldable electronics integration strategies.

Arokia is a leading pioneer in the development and application of thin film transistor technologies to flexible electronics, display, and sensor systems. In a career spanning over thirty years, he has had a profound impact on the design and development of TFT circuit architectures that greatly enabled the realization of commercial OLED displays, high-resolution image sensors, and large area 3D touch sensor systems. His research has resulted in 600 publications including four books. A prolific inventor, his ideas led to more than 110 patents and the establishment of four companies to commercialize the technology including IGNIS Innovation.

Following his PhD in Electrical Engineering, University of Alberta, Canada in 1988, he joined LSI Logic USA working on advanced multi-chip packaging. Subsequently he was at the Institute of Quantum Electronics, ETH Zürich, Switzerland, before joining the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department, University of Waterloo, Canada. Here he held the DALSA/NSERC Industrial Research Chair in sensor technology and then the Canada Research Chair in nano-scale flexible circuits, and in 2000 led the establishment of the Giga-to-Nanoelectronics Centre. In 2006, he joined the London Centre for Nanotechnology, University College London as the Sumitomo Chair of Nanotechnology. He moved to Cambridge University in 2011 as the Chair of Photonic Systems and Displays. He is currently a Bye-Fellow and Tutor at Darwin College, University of Cambridge.

In recognition for his role in TFT technology and flexible electronics, he was awarded the NSERC E.W.R. Steacie Fellowship in 2001, the Royal Society Wolfson Research Merit Award 2006, and the BOE Distinguished Contribution Award for TFT Compact Modeling and Circuit Design 2016. He was a China 1000 Talent Plan Laureate 2013 and received the Jiangsu Friendship Award 2014. In 2019, the University of Waterloo bestowed upon him Doctor of Science honoris causa in recognition for his leadership in undergraduate program development in Nanotechnology Engineering.

He had leadership roles in IEEE with service to EDS, Photonics Society and the Solid State Circuits Society. He served on the Board of Governors of EDS and on Editorial Boards of IEEE Proceedings, IEEE Trans. Devices, Materials, and Reliability, and IEEE Electron Device Letters. He also served as Editor-in-Chief of IEEE/OSA Journal of Display Technology and as Guest Editor for a two-part Special Issue on Flexible Electronics Technology in the Proceedings of the IEEE in 2004. He is a Fellow of IEEE (USA), an IEEE/EDS Distinguished Lecturer, a Chartered Engineer (UK), and Fellow of the Institution of Engineering and Technology (UK).

For more information on the 2020 IEEE EDS JJ Ebers Award, please visit https://eds.ieee.org/awards/j-j-ebers-award